Inspiration: Experimental Branding for American Airlines

This is a new experimental identity created for a Victors and Spoils project aiming to help American Airlines reinvent itself after filing for Chapter 11 Bankruptcy protection in 2011. Although eye catching and nicely styled, I’m not sure how long it would take to become outdated. My first reaction was a bit of confusion with the color palette. It’s a bit soft, not what I would think of as “American” and doesn’t evoke a sense of the future. Secondly, the graphics appear to me to be a bit vintage rather than timeless.
What do you think?

One thought on “Inspiration: Experimental Branding for American Airlines

  1. thanks for saying that… I saw this somewhere else on the web and thought the same thing. Its cool, but not really timeless. If I were a brand I’d want something with some staying power…

    Like

Leave a Reply

